BLUEtooth by Kent Harvey Jobo

Posted: April 13, 2011 in AYLC News, Reflection

Last Saturday – February 26, 2011, I was walking along the pathway of Notre Dame Uuniversity (NDU) going to the gymnasium wearing my dear BLUE long sleeve from Ayala Young Leaders Congress. While walking, I heard one student commented “WOW, Ayala Young Leader siya”, napalingon ako and I looked at him and smiled. Para akong BLUEtooth na nagpasa ng litrato ng aking saya dahil he recognized me as an Ayala Young Leader.

Nung nasa bahay na ako nung gabi, I reflected on what happened and I remembered myself in the same account nung student. To remember: 2 years ago, nasa office ako ng student council, and Kuya Jayson (Alumnus, 2008), wearing his Ayala t-shirt sitting with me sa faculty room. Nabasa ko rin yung t-shirt nya at tinanong ko, “Ano yung Ayala Young Leader?” and he responded, “Yun na yung best student leaders in our batch all over the Philippines” *smiling*. Naisip ko, Wow, ang galing naman, and starting that day, I always look him as somebody bigger than anyone, parang UN Ambassador kumbaga. I’m always amazed by his words, inspired by his actions and gratified by his love for everybody.

Hindi ko napansin, I was into his path na pala. Natuto akong maging leader, I learned to initiate, serve and present activities and programs sa school. I learned to talk with teachers, to everybody, hanggang sa dumating ang time na halos kakilala ko na lahat ng tao sa school at sa lugar namin (ayaw na nga sumama ng classmates ko minsan sakin, kasi, maubos daw ang time mag HI, HELLO, kasi lahat ng taong madaanan namin, kakilala ko. Haha). I should say that Kuya Jayson helped me to become who I am as a leader. And as my destiny calls for it, napasali ako sa Ayala Young Leaders Congress 2011. Napasali ako sa isang bagay na sobrang tiningnan ko nang mataas, sobrang taas for how many years.

Going back to my first story, I believe that the BLUE shirt, do not just symbolized the opportunity being an Ayala Young Leader, but the responsibility behind the shirt. The challenge is for us Ayala Young Leaders to inspire other people to become an Ayala Young Leader too, someday. To inspire them with your actions and invite them to be on your path and let the passion burn in their hearts and minds. We have to become role models and gratify them with our love for everybody. To help them create and realize activities for our institution, our community and for our country. I believe that we have to work hard, as simple as we can, to inspire others to be like us.

I remembered a quote said from the congress; “Remember that you are the chosen few, but don’t forget the unchosen many”. Let us not be proud of ourselves because we’re part of few, because the greater challenge is to INFECT MANY. I know personally the Kuya Jayson already did this, and I have to challenge myself to do more than what he did, to inspire more young students to be servant leaders. I always pray that years after, an AYLC delegate will write on the blog na naging Ayala Leader din siya because of me, or because of an Ayala Young Leader. I always wish that Kislapers will soon be like Kuya Jayson, para dumating ang time na 250 Young Leaders na per batch. Para dumami ang makarating sa Alfonso Cavite at mainspire to lead tulad natin. Nung dumating nga ako dito sa Cotabato, hindi ko alam bakit ako nahihiya pag tinatawag akong Ayala Young Leader, pero sa loob-loob ko, hindi pala dapat ako mahiya, dapat akong magtrabaho, kasi ang laki nung tingin sakin ng mga tao, at mataas ang inaasahan nila sa akin. They always say na “Ikaw pa Kent, kaya mo yan”. Natatakot ako, kasi, nag enjoy nga ako sa Congress, pero sa pagbalik ko, malaking responsibilidad ang naka atang sa sarili ko.

Simula nang nangyari last Saturday, I-BLUEbluetooth ko ang learnings na natutunan ko sa AYLC, I-BLUEbluetooth ko ang passion for servant leadership. I-BLUEbluetooth ko ang dakilang aral ng mga outdoor activities and workshop groupmates ko. I-BLUEblotooth ko ang saya ng pagiging AYLC delegate at panghuli, I-buBLUEtooth ko ang sarili ko para sa lahat.

—————————————————————————————

Kent Harvey Jobo is an Education student major in English at the Notre Dame University.

Comments
  1. MERRY GEN OYOG says:

    congrats! nice reading your article…ibluebluetooth natin lahat ng mga learning from the congress.- ate gen,aylc 2007

  2. Kent Hatvey N. Jobo says:

    Salamat po Ate Gen. You’re all our inspiration. And now, we have to be the inspiration for the next one.🙂

Leave a Reply

